Lyon SWCD Board & Staff

Lyon County is located in the southwestern part of Minnesota in what is considered the "Prairie Pothole" region.  Lyon SWCD assists rural and urban residents in the protection and enhancement of the natural resources.  This office is located at 1424 East College Drive ~ Ste 600, Marshall, MN 56258 - Phone, (507) 532-8207, Ext. #3.

Board Supervisors/Terms:    Area I, Gary Laleman - Townships- Eidsvold, Westerheim, Nordland & Grandview - Thru 2020

                                         Area II, Allen Deutz- Townships- Vallers, Lucas, Fairview,& Stanley - Thru 2022

                                         Area III, Mark Meulebroeck - Townships - Island Lake, Lynd, Coon Creek & Lyons - Thru 2020

                                         Area IV, Vacant - Townships - Lake Marshall, Clifton, Sodus & Amiret - Thru 2019

                                         Area V, Steve Prairie - Townships - Shelburne, Rock Lake, Custer & Monroe - Thru 2020

                                         Representing Lyon County is Commissioner Gary Crowley

                 2019 Chairman - Allen Deutz & Vice-Chair - Gary Laleman

SWCD Staff at this office consists of:

          John Biren - Administrator

          Todd Hammer - County Ditch Inspector

          Luke Olson - Conservation Technician

          Devin Ryan - Conservation Technician

          Anita Cauwels - Administrative Assistant

          Vacant - Conservation Corps Summer Intern

         John Rainey- Pheasants Forever Farm Biologist

NRCS Staff Include:

          Interim David Voight - District Conservationist

          Vacant - Soil Technician  

          Jeremy Larson - Civil Engineer Technician

          Vacant - Soil Conservation Technician

          Vicki Heinz - Administrative Assistant

Hours and Locations

Lyon County Government Center

8:00-4:30 M-F   Map

Public Works Building

8:00-4:30 M-F   Map

Law Enforcement Center

8:00-4:00 M-F   Map

Lyon County Zoning/SWCD

8:00-4:30 M-F   Map

Lyon County Landfill

6:00-4:00 M-F   Map


Code Red Icon.

Sign up for e-mail, text, and phone alerts from the Lyon County Sheriffs Department

Facebook Icon