Birth and Death Certificate Application
If you are interested in obtaining a certified birth or death certificate you must complete an application found under Applications and Forms and be able to show tangible interest in the certificate you are requesting. There are a couple of ways you can obtain the certificates other than in person.
Non-rush orders: (through the mail)
Complete the entire application form, sign it in front of notary public (if required), send the application and appropriate payment to our office:
Lyon County Recorder
607 West Main Street
Marshall MN 56258
Once the application is received the certificate will be processed and sent out either that same day or the following day depending on the Post Office mail pick up time.
Faxed or Rush orders:
We process your application as soon as we receive it and send out the certificate(s) that same day by mail to the address shown. In order to get it in the mail that same day, we need to receive it by 12:30 pm.
If there are problems or questions – we will contact you if you have given us your phone number. For even faster return service we can return through “Express Mail” for an additional fee. If you should choose this faster service – you can mark “Express Mail” on the application, which authorizes us to add the additional fee to your credit card.
1st Birth Certificate-$26.00 Each additonal Certificate at that time-$19.00
1st Death Certicate-$13.00 Each additional Certificate at that time-$6.00
OTHER INFORMATION: If you (with a tangible interest) want someone (without a tangible interest) to obtain the birth or death certificate(s) for you, you must provide that individual with a letter authorizing him/her to get the certificate(s). Your signature must be notarized. The individual then must complete an application, present your letter of authorization and pay the fee.
Certified Certificate of Marriage
If you purchased your marriage license from Lyon County and are looking to obtain a certified copy of the marriage record, please fill out the form which you will find under Applications and Forms.
Certified Copy of a Marriage Record-$9.00
STATEWIDE SEARCH FOR MARRIAGES
If you are unsure whether the license was purchased in Lyon county you can check the Minnesota Official Marriage System (MOMS) http://www.moms.mn.gov. It is the website address for a statewide marriage search. The site will tell you what county to contact for a specific marriage certificate and assist you in ordering one. If you have any questions, please contact the Recorder's Office at (507) 537-6722 and we will assist you.
Marriage License Information
LYON COUNTY NOW ACCEPTS ELECTRONIC MARRIAGE APPLICATIONS
Couples applying for a marriage license in Lyon County can save time and simplify the process by filling out the application form online at www.moms.mn.gov/application/. After completing the online form, couples receive a confirmation email. The couple must appear in person at the county office to have their signatures witnessed, pay the license fee and complete the marriage application process.
$115.00 - Full Fee
$40.00 - Reduced Fee-applicants must present an "Educators Statement" at the time of making the application to receive the discounted fee. The Educators Statement must appear on the educator’s letterhead, be signed and notarized or have the church seal as following the requirements shown in MS 517.08 Subd. 1b (b).
Minnesota Statute requires there to be a five-day waiting period before the marriage license can be issued. In case of an unforeseen emergency - applicants can request a five day waiver from a Judge. EFFECTIVE August 1, 2016 - the five-day waiting period no longer exists. Upon applying, the applicants will receive their marriage packet immediately.
The marriage license is good for six-months. If it is not used within that six-month period, it becomes null & void. Applicants will need to purchase another license and pay the appropriate fee. The license can be purchased in any county within MN and the marriage ceremony must take place within the geographical boundaries of the State of Minnesota.
Both applicants must make application for the marriage license. If either of the parties have been previously married, you will need to enter the date of the divorce on the application so it may be helpful to bring a copy of your divorce decree with you. If one of you has been convicted of a felony and wants to change your name through marriage, there is additional paperwork required and it will delay the issuance of the marriage license for 30 days.
The application for a marriage license can be found under Applications and Forms. You can print and complete the application but do not sign it until you bring it into the office. We accept application for marriages between 8:30 - 4:30.